Recipe of the Week: Olive Oil and Sea Salt Focaccia Bread!

A few months ago I stumbled upon Bklyn Larder, a cheese and provisions shop nestled in Brooklyn’s Park Slope neighborhood. One step into the joint and you are inundated with an abundance of specialty prepared foods, sustainable grocery items, hand crafted cheeses and various jams/butters/oils. This place is provision heaven; many times I have found myself craving a certain foodstuff and made a bee-line to Bklyn Larder to satisfy my hunger (a laborious lemonade search with my friend Rion lasting hours once ended here).

On one of my first visits to Bkln Larder I found what was quiet possibly the best bread I have ever tasted. An olive oil/sea salt focaccia bread that so unbelievably light and airy, I immediately purchased a small square and devoured the thing in mere seconds. I don’t know if it was a one-off special, but every time I go back I am crushed to hear that the focaccia is not available. Well I couldn’t wait any longer and decided that I would try to replicate the focacciawith my very own version. While it is definitely not the same, I think I was able to create something that, for the time being, satisfied my focaccia cravings.

***You may know of Bklyn Larders’ restaurant Franny’s, a slice of a place just down the street, that prides itself on obtaining ingredients that are local and sustainable to create their wonderful pizzas, pastas and various appetizers. I suggest checking this place out after an afternoon stroll through Prospect Park or Brooklyn Museum.

Bklyn Larder: http://www.bklynlarder.com/

 Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (added in parts)
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

To Make:

  • In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix 1 cup flour, sugar, salt and yeast
  • Mix in warm water, vegetable oil, and egg until dough is moist
  • Beat on medium for 2 additional minutes
  • Stir in 1 3/4 cup flour while beating until dough pulls away from the side of the bowl
  • Remove dough from the bowl and knead in 3/4 cup flour on floured surface
  • Cover dough with paper towels and let sit for 5 minutes
  • Place dough on a greased baking sheet and roll out to a 12 inch circle (or whatever shape you choose)
  • Cover with plastic wrap and a cloth towel and place in a warm spot for 30 minutes
  • Uncover dough, and poke holes in it with a spoon handle at 1 inch intervals
  • Drizzle olive oil on dough and sprinkle with fleur de sel (sea salt)
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 17-27 minutes, until just golden
  • Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

Leave a Reply

