Recipe of the Week: Cinnamon Raisin and Granny Smith Apple Bread Pudding!!

I dare you to find someone who does not love bread pudding… I mean who doesn’t love the mix of bread, eggs, milk, sugar, and various other ingredients!?!? A dish with very very old roots, bread pudding evolved as a use for stale bread. Throughout history cooks from many cultures have hated waste so they found creative ways to use it for new dishes! The tradition of bread pudding has carried on but today they are much more luxurious and decadent than its humble origins. Nowadays we find all sorts of elaborate bread puddings that use fresh and expensive ingredients and a variety of gourmet breads and sauces.

My bread pudding creation comes to you with mixed emotions as the reason it’s featured this morning was on the insistence of a dear friend of mine who was recently diagnosed with lymphoma. When I inquired as what he needs or would like when I visit he immediately asked for a bread pudding, one of his all-time favorite dishes.Well surely I could fulfill is request and honestly it’s the absolute least I could do for a man that, for the last year or so, has enriched my life with laughter and fun every week I see him.

Needless to say this creation had to be the best damn bread pudding I ever made or attempted because let’s face it… he deserves only the best. So I set off on a recipe search and compiled numerous ideas and suggestions to create this wonderfully decadent and rich cinnamon raisin and granny smith apple bread pudding. I hope you enjoy it Papa Bear 🙂

*I suggest serving with a creme anglaise sauce (super easy to make, just didn’t have time or the ingredients on hand) over the top to really jazz it up!

Ingredients:

9 sliced day old bread (I used Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Raisin Bread)

2 tbl melted butter

4 eggs beaten

2 cups milk

3/4 cup turbinado sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 granny smith apple, thinly sliced and diced

To Make:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
break or cut bread into small pieces and place in desired baking pan and then sprinkle apple slices over bread
drizzle melted butter over bread
In medium mixing bowl combine eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla and mix well
pour over bread and lightly push down with a fork until bread is covered and soaking up egg mixture
bake for 45 minutes or until top springs back when lightly tapped
Enjoy!
1 Comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

One response to “Recipe of the Week: Cinnamon Raisin and Granny Smith Apple Bread Pudding!!

  1. lil sis

    send this my way in a care package please! bread pudding is my absolute favorite! 🙂

Leave a Reply

