Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Pudding Pops!!!

I don’t know if Jello Pudding Pops were solely a Midwestern treat or what because nearly everyone who grew up on the East Coast I have mentioned these to has literally no recollection of their presence in their childhood.  I mean there are a few food items that my little sister and I would literally do anything for (fruit by the foot, chicken and a biscuit crackers, and many many more) and Jello Pudding Pops were high up on that list if not right at the top.

Last week my favorite boozy morning co-hosts Hoda and Kathie Lee of the Today Show featured a segment about toys and foods from the 70s and 80s and what came onto the screen but my beloved pudding pops!!! How on earth did these icy treats escape my mind? Naturally the first thing I did was search for their availability, which I knew was impossible as I remember a search similar to this ten years ago, but I had to confirm that they were not available in stores before I set off to make my very own version (below). Unfortunately for me I didn’t have any popsicle molds and forgot to get smaller cups so the shape wasn’t exactly what I wanted but it did the trick!

So here ya go, hopefully someone out there remembers the gloriousness of these rich chocolate pudding pops and enjoys making these. I encourage you to make the pudding from scratch and not go the easy route by using instant pudding; it takes no more than fifteen minutes from start to finish! Enjoy… I know I did!!!!

Special Items Needed: Popsicle Sticks, Popsicle Molds or Plastic Cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup baking cocoa
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 cups milk (whole or 2% work best)
  • 2 tbl butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

To Make:

  • In heavy saucepan combine sugar, cocoa, cornstarch and salt
  • gradually add milk and bring to a boil over medium heat
  • boil and stir for two minutes
  • remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla
  • immediately pour into plastic cups or popsicle molds
  • place popsicle stick in middle and freeze for five hours or until firm
  • If using plastic cups for mold, remove cup before serving!
  • Enjoy!
4 Comments

Filed under McKenzie Makes

4 responses to “Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Pudding Pops!!!

  1. Shannon Mahoney Costanzo

    Funny, bc I looked for them out here when Drew was sick and I couldn’t find them. Omg- I would eat like 10 at a time- yummy. I can’t wait to make these for the kids!!

  2. lil sis

    is that freezer burn or sea salt on your chocolate decadence?

Leave a Reply

