Recipe of the Week: Start Summer off right with a Simple Smoothie!!!!

Today is the official start of summer and I declare this to be the summer of the smoothie! Long ago I abandoned my morning bagel opting for a healthier way to start my day which I found in the form of a simple smoothie.

Making a smoothie isn’t rocket science but dare I say I mastered it? Call me a smoothie snot but I just cannot have a smoothie made with frozen ingredients (which is why smoothie consumption in the winter is tough). Luckily summer began today and with that comes a bounty of fresh stone fruits, berries, citrus and other juicy fruits to play with!

About a month ago fresh New Jersey strawberries arrived at the Coop and since I have been on a smoothie tear experimenting with different fruits, vegetables and bases to enjoy in the morning. See I wake up at 6am to run the Prospect Park Loop with my trusting running buddy and roommate Kristin for a 3 1/2 mile run. And with less than two weeks to go before I kick-off of my marathon training, the last thing I want to do is derail from this work-out train that’s been chugging along pretty smoothly.

For nearly two weeks I capped off my morning routine with a spinach, kiwi, banana, honey and almond milk smoothie. But then I spotted peaches, nectarines, plums, watermelons, and cherries and went absolutely crazy in the produce aisle! I may boast of my super smoothie powers but let’s face it, you could probably make a smoothie with one arm tied behind your back. The secret to a great smoothie is its unique flavor combination and I think the one I created (detailed below) is pretty darn good! ENJOY!

Ingredients:

1 banana

1 kiwi

1 cup seedless watermelon

1/2 cup sliced pineapple

6 strawberries

1/4 cup almond or soy milk

1 cup of ice

*******place all ingredients in blender and puree till smooth! Enjoy!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

Leave a Reply

