Recipe of the Week: Old Bay Chicken Wings!

This past weekend found me back in DC ( I lived there in 2006) for my good friend Dave’s annual BBQ and boy did we throw down. Yes there were kegs, pies, water gun fights, beer pong, and pork shoulder (30 freaking pounds of smoky greatness), but the event also featured my newest addiction…Old Bay chicken wings!

I have Kramer to thank for introducing me to his version of the Serious Eats recipe from earlier this year. I bumrushed the grill as soon as I heard the words “wing” and “Old Bay” and camped out right beside him eating as much chicken as I could until the last wing was doled out. I had them not more than 58 hours ago and I cannot stop thinking about them. Everything I have ingested since Saturday has been meh.

With only a few more weeks to go until “grillin season” is over…I beg you to bring these to your table and experience the greatness of these wings. Enjoy!

*This recipe finds me baking the wings, but you can also grill them (like Kramer did!).

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chicken wings
  • 2 tbl Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 tbl salt
  • 1 tbl ground black pepper
  • 2 tbl salted butter
  • 2 tbl Frank’s Hot Sauce *don’t substitute…Frank’s is key!
  • 2 tbl Worcestershire Sauce

To Make:

  • Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees
  • Pat wings dry and rub with salt, old bay and black pepper
  • Place in ziplock bag and let sit for one hour
  • Bake wings in oven for 30-45 minutes, flip over halfway through
  • Combine butter, hot sauce and worcestershire in large bowl
  • Place wings in bowl and toss, make sure coating is even throughout
  • Eat immediately!!!!
4 Comments

Filed under McKenzie Makes, My Latest Obsession

4 responses to “Recipe of the Week: Old Bay Chicken Wings!

  1. JonT

    zomg they were so good. Whoever is reading this go make them now. I’ll wait.

    GREAT to see you this weekend!!

  2. kd

    Thank you for trying the recipe out on me last night, roomie! Soooo good!

  3. Bill.

    Hey…just what heat level do you prefer they be cooked at? Sounds fantastic ! Thanks again

Leave a Reply

