My Latest Obsession: 12 Chairs Hummus!!!

It may have taken me awhile, but I finally got to check out 12 Chairs hummus after getting a taste of their stuff at Openhouse Gallery’s Middle Feast back in June. 12 Chairs may not have been my favorite that day but I could not get their hummus and pita out of my mind (they apparently fly the pita in from Israel)! They also had the best set-up by far and very friendly people manning the station so I put it on the list and last week went to check it out with my friend Jason.

Just south of Houston Street on MacDougal Street, 12 Chairs brings tasty Middle Eastern food to Soho. Now I don’t consider myself a hummus connoisseur by any means, but served with piping hot fresh airy pita and Israeli pickles, the hummus at 12 Chairs is divine. One bite in and I was seriously transported to a cafe somewhere in Tel Aviv (or at least what I think the experience of being in a cafe in Tel Aviv would be like). Jason immediately asked for schug (an Israeli spicy sauce) and in seconds a chunky hot sauce was promptly folded it into our hummus. If you like spicy foods, then make sure to go this route…. I was happy Jason took the lead and showed me his way  of eating hummus.

The hummus alone will bring me back time and time again. Note that the service may be slow but the food more than makes up for it. 12 Chairs is perfect for a casual weeknight meal, I highly recommend the place…. but don’t forget to order the hummus!

12 Chairs

56 MacDougal Street (between Houston and Prince Streets)

2 Comments

Filed under My Latest Obsession

2 responses to “My Latest Obsession: 12 Chairs Hummus!!!

  1. I also went to Middle Feast and was in heaven. My mother and grandmothers make hummus (oh Lebanese family traditions) and some of those places would have impressed even the women in my family!

    I went to 12 Chairs for brunch once – really great menu!

  2. Jerry

    Right around the corner from GLWD. How convenient!

Leave a Reply

