McKenzies Recommenzies: The Do-it-All Dutch Oven!

my own photo

Image via Wikipedia

In what seems like a few days we have fast tracked to fall and dare I say  winter!? Gone are the 70-80 degree days we have come so accustomed to in the past two months and in its place? Perma-socks, hot coffee and coats! With the changing weather comes a changing diet. Like a bear, I go into near hibernation…wanting to cozy up on my couch and devour comfort food classics. Ya, it becomes a necessity that I get my butt to the gym, but it tastes oh so good!

One of my most treasured items for fall/winter cooking? The dutch oven, a thick-walled cooking pot, it’s a popular registry item and I think one of the most important to have in a kitchen. If you don’t have one, go get one…..it will change your life! It can be used to stew, sauté, boil, deep-fry, bake, just about anything you can do on a stove-top or in an oven! It basically does it all!

I find myself trying to come up with new and exciting dishes to make within my pots round walls, but there are a few that I think everyone should make, attempt, or master! Enjoy root vegetable and braised meat season and try your hand at a few of these favorites!  

Chili con carne

Image via Wikipedia

Chili 

Braised Short Ribs of Beef

Image by Sifu Renka via Flickr

Braised Short Ribs

Buttermilk Fried Chicken @ Ad Hoc

Image by armaburrito via Flickr

Fried Chicken

Osso Bucco (Veal Shanks)

Image by artizone via Flickr

Osso Buco

Brisket in the beef cut chart.

Image via Wikipedia

Beef Brisket 

Cock's Comb Soup

Image by Sifu Renka via Flickr

A Hearty Soup (Jambalaya, Chicken and Dumplings, Gumbo, etc)

Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzies Recommenzies

Leave a Reply

