4:43:04!

*at mile 8 upon seeing my parents*

A huge thank you to all of my family and friends who came out yesterday to watch me run the ING NYC Marathon! In addition to those who were there in presence, I have to thank those that were there with me in spirit (especially my little sister Mal and friend Holly who tracked me from San Diego and Denver and kept everyone updated with my whereabouts)!

I have to say for my first marathon, 4:43 isn’t too shabby! Clad in a tutu and tinsel….I never stopped running (I made sure to hug every friend I saw on the course and chat for a few seconds), cried every time I saw a familiar face, never hit a wall and always had a smile on my face. Running 26.2 miles through the streets of my adopted home was unbelievable; the energy of the people, the beautiful fall day…I could not have asked for a better birthday present (I turn 28 on the 15th).

ING NYC Marathon

Image via Wikipedia

I made the decision to do this nearly two years ago and now I can proudly say that I completed a marathon. When I entered Central Park the accomplishment I was running towards began to take hold and I held back tears for most of the last mile. I have experienced no greater feeling than seeing the finish line and hearing my family and friends cheering me on from the bleachers as I crossed. After grabbing my medal and foil cover-up my thoughts immediately turned to food…..almost everyone who checked in on me afterwards wanted to know what was on my post marathon meal plan. Well, for some reason I couldn’t get chicken wings out of my head during the last few miles so I chowed down on a dozen wings and scarfed down two slices of Joe’s Pizza within hours of running.

Not surprisingly, I am taking the day off….going to treat myself to a day of pampering at the Tribeca Spa of Tranquility and then get back in the kitchen at God’s Love We Deliver to celebrate with my second family!!!!

Thanks again everyone! I really couldn’t have done it without all of you!

xo.

4 Comments

Filed under Check it Out

4 responses to “4:43:04!

  1. great job- you are amazing! xoxo

  2. Cinda morrison

    You are my inspiration, Chickie!

Leave a Reply

