Recipe of the Week: Gluten-Free Cran-Chip Cookies!!!

With my boyfriend and I cohabitating in less than two months I really have to get comfortable with gluten-free cooking. Many of the things I love to make (including pie) are not consumable by him in their current form, so I’ve had to figure out ways to incorporate his allergy into my everyday cooking and that starts with these fabulous cran-chip cookies.

I love dried cranberries, white chocolate chip cookies and almonds so for my first attempt at a David-approved cookie, I went with something I too would enjoy. Cooking gluten-free isn’t really hard, you just have to have all the correct ingredients! You would not believe how many things contain gluten, so just be diligent in reading ingredient labels and asking questions. My knowledge of the gluten-free world has expanded exponentially thanks to my boyfriend. 

So enjoy these little gluten-free goodies, I have to say…. you can’t really tell a difference!

*if you wanna make these non gluten-free… just whip up a simple sugar cookie dough and fold in the cranberries, almonds, and white chocolate chips!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free all-purpose baking flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup soften melted butter
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

To Make:

  • pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • combine half of gluten-free flour, sugar and butter and beat till incorporated
  • add egg and water, and beat until light and fluffy
  • add remaining gluten-free flour and mix
  • fold in cranberries, almonds and white chocolate chips
  • on ungreased cookie sheet, drop 1 large Tbsp of cookie dough
  • bake for 10-12 minutes or when golden brown
  • let cookies cool down  for a few minutes and enjoy!
1 Comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

One response to “Recipe of the Week: Gluten-Free Cran-Chip Cookies!!!

  1. Jon

    I’m sure you already know this…but good resources for gluten free cooking ideas are Paleo websites. Most of them have recipes on them, and give suggestions for replacement flour such as Tapicoa Flour or Almond Meal. I have been using almond meal in some of my recipes (most famously my Paleo Beef Stew, mother effing delicious) and it’s worked well as a thickening agent. I think next I’m going to try to make tapioca flour sausage gravy

Leave a Reply

