My Latest Obsession: Dominique Ansel’s La Canele!!!

En route to my weekly volunteer session last week I walked past Dominique Ansel Bakery on Spring Street. Just as I passed, a smell wafted out of the door as a woman exited that reminded me of the afternoon I walked around Paris for six hours looking for the perfect pasty treat. So with my willpower hovering at around zero, I veered off course and decided to just check it out for a quick second.

You can’t walk in here and NOT try something. Rows and rows of pastries, macaroons, croissants, and more…there are so many options to choose from! But I only wanted a small treat (and only had $4 on me) so I went with the so fresh it was still a little warm Canele de Bordeaux ($3). A crunchy and caramelized shell with a soft flan and souffle-like center with hints of vanilla and rum, a Canele is a specialty of the Bordeaux region but can be found at many a French Patisserie.

I paid, left and headed to God’s Love We Deliver waiting for the right moment to enjoy this masterpiece. How I was able to not eat this right as it hit my hands I do not know… because once I took a bite, the whole world seemed to stop. The jiggly and spongy interior I bit into surrounded by the well tanned shell’s crunch revealed a soft moist vanilla goodness inside, providing a wonderful contrast. They are absolutely fabulous and truly a little French gem.

Damn you, Dominique Ansel! Now every time I go to God’s Love (which is once a week) I’m going to have to come in and get a Canele! Trust me, it’s hard not to buy a dozen items here when you walk in because they all look so scrumptious, but I’m trying to be good and practice moderation as swimsuit season is fast approaching 😉

Dominique Ansel Bakery

189 Spring Street (between Sullivan and Thompson Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under My Latest Obsession

Leave a Reply

