McKenzies Recommenzies: Fried Pizza at La Montanara!!!

Fried pizza… it’s all the rage in New York now. Of course I had to taste it for myself and thus went with three of my favorite foodie friends to check out La Montanara, sister restaurant to Forcella in the East Village and Williamsburg.

Well not only is the pizza fried, nearly everything on the menu is fried in some way or another! Although it’s called fried pizza, the only thing that is fried is the dough… which is flash fried for 30 seconds then topped with sauce and various ingredients and finished in the oven. The result is pretty darn good but the hands down best part of this entire pizza is the dough…the only criticism I have is that the house made mozzarella cheese on my pizza hadn’t fully melted but had on others. But the fried crust is fantastic…. its crunchy, chewy and doesn’t taste greasy.

The pizza at La Montanara is deliciously different. Next time I find myself drinking on the LES or in the East Village… I’m heading straight for them! This my friends is the PERFECT drunk food 😉

La Montanara

168 Ludlow Street (between Stanton and Houston Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzies Recommenzies

Leave a Reply

