McKenzie Makes: Strawberry/Rhubarb “Terrines”

My all time favorite fruit pie is strawberry rhubarb but it’s only available for like 2 months out of the year so I wait patiently until the first stalks show up in the markets and then I buy as many as I can. But as much as I wanted to take the giant stalks of rhubarb and juicy strawberries I bought from the coop last week and fold them into a ridiculously tasty pie… I had to resist and make something a little different this time around.

See, I am three weeks away from a six day sojourn to the island of Paros (in the Cyclades island group of the Greek islands) for what will be a truly unforgettable wedding and three months away from a two-week trip to the South of France with my boyfriend and some friends. So needless to say, this voracious eater needs to get herself in check asap and so I’m doing my very best to be good-by figuring out ways to enjoy  my favorite foods without the resulting guilt.

So I took the strawberries and rhubarb and made a “terrine” of sorts (I also love jello.. as evidenced here). It’s not a pie, but it’s the next best thing. And it’s also 120 calories per serving! You can always put a dollop of fresh whipped cream on top too!

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium-sized rhubarb stalks, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch segments
  • 3 cups water, divided into 2 cups and 1 cup
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3 1/4 oz packets unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups sliced fresh strawberries
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • zest from two oranges

To Make:

  • Bring 2 cups water, orange zest and sugar to boil in medium saucepan
  • Add lemon and rhubarb and bring to a simmer (let cook for 4 minutes) and remove from heat
  • pour gelatin over remaining 1 cup water in bowl and stir till gelatin is dissolved and let sit for 1 minute
  • mix gelatin water into rhubarb sugar mixture and stir till gelatin is completely dissolved
  • pour into desired vessel and then add strawberries (I used small water glasses for individual use and placed strawberries on top)
  • cover with plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for 6 hours or overnight
  • Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

Leave a Reply

