Run…Don’t Walk to Pala!!!

It’s rare that I don’t choose every restaurant my boyfriend and I go to but last week he insisted we hit up Palá on the Lower East Side. Apparently in his google search for “gluten-free dining” Palá came up as a go-to spot.

In the past year I have tried to make myself as knowledgeable as possible about the various restaurants that cater to my boyfriends unfortunate disease (celiac) and nowhere did Palá ever come up. So imagine my surprise when I found that not only was nearly the entire menu offered gluten-free, but that what we ate (GF pizza and GF pasta) was by far the best gluten-free alternatives  I have ever had.

Are you gluten-free, vegan, or vegetarian? Then you can find oodles to eat at Palá. They offer gluten-free and vegan menus that mirror the regular menu…. I mean where else can you find a place that basically caters to almost everyone? If you know of others, please let me know!

Anyways, the service was great; our serve was very sweet and made recommendations with a culinary zeal that I haven’t seen before in casual spots like this. Armed with his advice, we ordered the Carciofi Al Parmigiano (grilled artichoke salad with cherry tomatoes, and parmigiano cheese), the Bucatini alla Matriciana (pancetta, pecorino romano and spicy tomato sauce w/ GF spaghetti instead of bucatini), and the Zucca GF Pizza (butternut squash puree, pancetta, smoked scamorza cheese, mozzarella cheese and parsley) to share. This meal was so wonderful and not just because of the food….this was the first time David (my boyfriend) and I could share an entire meal together!

Our meal was fantastic but the highlight was the wood-fired gluten-free zucca pizza…at first I was a bit skeptical (butternut squash puree on a pizza?) but the server said it was the house favorite and so I took that as a challenge and ordered it. Thank god for him…. absolutely amazing and flavorful pizza. It’s a must eat for sure!

I couldn’t have been more impressed with our Saturday night dinner date at Palá. It was surprisingly wonderful and romantic with candlelit tables, great music, and perfect weather. I for one really enjoyed the mix of indoor and outdoor seating areas that seamlessly blended together. Forget Risotteria, this is our new spot for gluten-free/everyday dining! Good job David… I guess I can let go of the restaurant reigns a little bit and let you pick more often 😉

Palá

198 Allen Street (between Houston and Stanton Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under Run... Don't Walk

Leave a Reply

