McKenzie Makes: Simple Steamed Artichokes!

I’ve been eating whole artichokes since I was a little kid. When in season they were a fixture at the dining table and as kids, my sister and I enjoyed “playing with our food” as we would scrape the flesh off each leaf and toss it aside.

While at Trader Joe’s last week I happened upon a 4 pack for only $2.00! I haven’t had a whole artichoke in years and certainly not without the presence of my father. I grabbed them without thinking what to do with them and tossed them in the cart. I soon realized that I’ve always left the cooking of these to my father and with him 3,000 miles away needed to start making them for myself.

And so here is this weeks recipe… a simple steamed artichoke that is great to share amongst friends. A quick tip… add a few lemons and minced garlic to the water for added flavor and if you’re sharing amongst others I would make a few dipping sauces.

In the words of my sister Shannon, “The Mahoney Family never met a green vegetable they didn’t like to pair with mayo,” and so I whipped up a mayonnaise, horseradish and worcestershire sauce to serve alongside. Other good dipping sauce ideas include butter, garlic and lemon, balsamic vinaigrette and pepper, and a spicy mayonnaise.

***For those folks who haven’t eaten whole artichokes a little tip for you…. remove the leaf, dip in whatever sauce you want, scrape the fleshy part off with your teeth and discard the rest of the leaf!

***Best way to know if they are “done” in the steamer is to pull a leaf off, if it falls off…you are good to go!

Ingredients:

  • 4 whole artichokes
  • 2 lemons, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1 TBL garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper

To Make:

  • Fill deep pot with 2 inches of water and bring to a full boil over high heat
  • Trim and discard the stems and the tough outer leaves of artichokes and clip the tips of each leaf if needed
  • Add lemon and garlic to water and place steamer insert in pot
  • Set artichokes in steamer, stem side down and cover pot with lid
  • Steam for 45 minutes or until tender
  • Remove from pot, let cool for 5 minutes and serve immediately alongside desired dipping sauce
  • Enjoy!
3 Comments

Filed under McKenzie Makes

3 responses to “McKenzie Makes: Simple Steamed Artichokes!

  1. Sam

    I bought the SAME artichoke deal at trader joe’s last week, and couldn’t believe how cheap (and awesome) it was! Another reason we are foodie twins 🙂

  2. Love it! Can’t eat an artichoke without the Mahoney family wahoo sauce! 🙂

  3. Pingback: McKenzie Makes: Sweet & Spicy Flank Steak!!! | The MMMguide…

Leave a Reply

