McKenzie Makes: Pimm’s Cups!

200

Let me start off by saying that I LOVE the Olympics…LOVE LOVE LOVE. The excitement, the revelry, the competition, the fun… I just eat it all up. My heart skips a beat the moment I hear the booming sounds of the Olympic song!

So, in honor of tonight’s opening ceremony of the 2012 London Olympics, I’m hosting an intimate girls celebration at my home tonight with my nearest and dearest. In thinking what to serve, two things immediately popped up in my mind….Pimms Cups and Tea Sandwiches. So tonight, as we watch the opening ceremony unfold before our eyes, we’ll be toasting the event with both!

pimm's cup

A Pimms Cup may be the best summer cocktail ever created…and if you haven’t had one then you are missing out! So even though I’m cheering on the USA, the Olympics are in London and so I will do as the British do and celebrate accordingly.

In searching for the best way to make this hot-weather refresher, many of my Pimms No. 1 loving friends sent along their favorite recipes in how to make this iconic drink. For those of you who don’t know…Pimms is a brand and Pimm’s No. 1 is its most popular product. It’s technically a liqueur but is called a “Fruit Cup.” No. 1 is based on Gin and is often drank “English-style” with a carbonated beverage, fresh fruit and mint. Other Pimms include No’s 2-6 which are (in order) based on Scotch Whiskey, Brandy, Rum, Rye Whiskey and Vodka.

After my friends recommendations and perusing online recipe sites, I came up with the below… my very own version of a Pimms Cup! Enjoy!

Ingredients: *makes 8 cups

  • 2 oranges, sliced into 1/4 inch circular rounds
  • 2 lemons, sliced into 1/4 inch circular rounds
  • 1 cucumber, seeded and sliced into 1/4 inch circular rounds
  • 1 pint strawberries, hulled and sliced thinly or quartered
  • 4.5 cups Ginger Beer
  • 1 bottle Pimms No. 1 (only need 3 cups)
  • 1 bunch fresh mint, half picked and half still on stem for garnish

To Make:

  • Fill a pitcher with ice, add Pimms, then Ginger Beer and stir to mix
  • Add lemon slices, orange slices, cucumbers, strawberries, and picked mint leaves and stir
  • Garnish with Mint Sprig
  • Enjoy!
2 Comments

Filed under McKenzie Makes

2 responses to “McKenzie Makes: Pimm’s Cups!

  1. Pingback: McKenzie Makes: Tea Sammies! | The MMMguide…

  2. Pingback: Weekly Cocktail #24: Long Island Iced Tea « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

