McKenzie Makes: Gluten-Free “Chunky Monkey” Bread & Muffins!

It’s gonna be a long few weeks over here in my house as I hop back on the gluten-free diet train to get myself back on track and right any wrongs I did to my body this past summer. So from now until November, I’ll be joining my boyfriend in solidarity and saying bye bye to wheat in all of its forms. And lucky for you I’ll be detailing my journey through the gluten-free recipes I’ll be experimenting with each week.

I made both bread (in a heart-shaped tin) and muffins since I didn’t have enough pans for one or the other and got a little creative with the topping! And while it may be made with brown rice flour it tastes no different from its wheat filled counterparts. So whether you are gluten-free or not, I suggest attempting this recipe for yourself….it’s super easy to make! You can find brown rice flour in almost any grocery store nowadays (I found the brown rice flour at my local Key Food which has a huge selection of different flours).

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 2 cups brown rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Wet:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs, separated into whites and yolks
  • 1 1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (approx 3 bananas)

To Make:

  • pre-heat oven to 325 degrees
  • combine all dry ingredients (except walnuts) in a small bowl and set aside
  • mix together oil and egg yolks in a large bowl and whisk together for 30 seconds
  • in a small bowl beat egg whites together until stiff and set aside
  • add the mashed banana to the egg and oil mixture and then mix in the dry ingredients from the first step (minus the walnuts)
  • stir in the nuts and fold in the egg whites
  • pour into a greased loaf pan or muffin tins (I did both)
  • bake for 1 hour or until done (“bread” will be set and a medium dark brown)
  • remove from heat and let rest for ten minutes before serving
Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

Leave a Reply

