McKenzie Makes: Gluten-Free PB&J Granola Bars!!!

When I say I live off KIND bars (especially the almond/coconut and apricot/macadamia flavors) during the week, I am not exaggerating in the slightest. As I run around the city for work, I don’t always have time for a real meal and my KIND bars serve as a tasty replacement seven, if not eight times a week! But lately it seems like I may have overdosed on KIND bars because the one I scarfed down en route to Manhattan via bike the other day just wasn’t satisfying.

So in that thirty minute bike ride, I decided to make a gluten-free granola bar packed with flavor and perfect for on the go! And since I’ve been on a little peanut butter and jelly kick for a bit I figured why not keep my craving going and convert the classic pb&j sandwich into a healthy granola snack!? Mission accomplished 😉 For easy consumption I cut them into individual squares and placed in the freezer so that I can grab and go as needed!

Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cup gluten-free quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup whole ground flax-seed meal
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup whole roasted unsalted peanuts
  • 1 cup cut dried strawberries
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 strawberry jam
  • 6 TBL unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp sea salt

To Make:

  • pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • line 8 x 8 pan with foil and spray with pam/cooking spray
  • in large bowl stir dry ingredients together and fold in peanuts and dried strawberries
  • melt butter in microwave, add peanut butter and let sit until softened
  • add honey, jam, and vanilla and stir well
  • add peanut butter/honey/butter mixture to oat/nut mixture and coat evenly
  • press mixture into pan and bake for 35 minutes or until brown on edges and slightly brown & soft in the middle
  • remove from pan and let cool (with foil) completely on a wire rack
  • cut into desired shape (i did squares) and wrap individually with plastic wrap
  • place squares in a plastic bag and store in freezer till use
  • enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under McKenzie Makes

Leave a Reply

