Run…Don’t Walk to Murray’s Cheese Bar!!!

I, no joke, ate at Murrays Cheese Bar TWICE in 48 hours last week. It was at the top of my list and one visit was just not enough for this lactose lover. In fact, I almost made a third trip the next day but stopped myself short in fear that the jovial line cook I had become chummy with would think I was stalking him!

There is absolutely nothing bad you could possibly say about this heavenly shrine to the almighty cheese curd. The front of the menu separates itself into cheeses and cured meats where you can choose from dozens of fresh, soft-ripened, washed rind, semi-firm, firm and blue cheeses and a handful of salumis which lend themselves nicely to sharing, experimenting ,etc. The back menu is comprised of their complete dishes where you can choose from spreads, sandwiches, fondues, pastas, salads and snacks.

I’m not gonna tell you what to eat but I will tell you that you must share here, it’s the only way to go here where you can nibble and nosh and try many different things. On my first visit I went with a meal of sorts sharing a selection of cured meats and cheese and the bibb lettuce salad while my guest ordered the three cheese mac & cheese and I devoured the enchiladas salsa verde. Visit two found me sharing once again but with a sharper focus on the “appetizers” of the menu like the pimento, obatdza and kopanisti cheese spreads, buffalo cheese curds and grilled halloumi.

I frequently describe how I nearly lick plates clean and this was no exception… both nights I went for the kill. And while I obviously enjoyed everything I ate (and I do mean everything) the one dish I cannot get out of my mind was the Ellsworth Creamery Buffalo Cheese Curds. Served with a stack of celery and a creamy blue cheese dip, I nearly had to fight my friend for this (photo at right).

Murrays Cheese Bar is basically the best new restaurant opening of the year for me…..and if you love cheese as much as I do, then it will be the same for you. I’m headed back for meal #3 next week πŸ˜‰

Murray’s Cheese Bar

264 Bleecker Street (between 6th and 7th Avenues)

1 Comment

Filed under Run... Don't Walk

One response to “Run…Don’t Walk to Murray’s Cheese Bar!!!

  1. sarahmshaker

    I love cheese so much that I can’t believe I haven’t had time to go yet!

Leave a Reply

