My Latest Obsession: Banh Mi Pizza at Alewife!

banhmi

Alewife in Long Island City doesn’t just serve nearly 30 draught beers, 40 bottled beers, 20 bottles of wine…. they also have a pretty kick-ass food menu! With time to kill before a charity comedy event around the corner at The Creek and the Cave, I gathered friends at Alewife for a few beers and a few bites.

Alewife has the comfort of a cozy bar and is so expansive (with what 20 foot ceilings and a 2nd floor) that you don’t feel cramped at all (something you rarely find in Manhattan). Being a little on the early side, we had the pick of the litter in terms of the tables and we bellied up to one of the high chair tabled six tops.

I was here for the beer but took one look at the menu and had to eat. When I saw that they make a Banh Mi Pizza I was hooked! I mean, have you ever heard of such a thing before!? I love me a good Banh Mi (my favorite in the city can be found at Co Ba on 9th Avenue) and when I saw Alewife’s take on a classic….I had to try it!

Now it may look like a pizza but the crust is more like a crispy crackly pita smothered with a smooth chicken liver pâté and topped with tender Chinese pork, crispy pork belly, crunchy pickled vegetables & fresh and bright cilantro. While I wish there wasn’t so much crust on the outside (that the toppings spread closer to the edge), the pizza was wonderful and paired so well with a Sculpin IPA.

A quick subway ride from Grand Central (take the 7 to Vernon Blvd/Jackson Avenue), Alewife has a top-notch beer selection and great food menu. Take advantage of their nightly specials…. 50 cent wings on Mondays, $10 taco & beer on Tuesdays, ladies night on Wednesdays, 6 oyster and beer special for $10 on Sundays, and $25 all you can drink weekend brunches!

This place is definitely run by people who are passionate about craft beer so if you enjoy a good craft…..Alewife is a must. And if you don’t get the Banh Mi Pizza, well that’s your fault!

Alewife

5-14 51st Avenue (between Vernon Boulevard and 5th Street)

Leave a comment

Filed under My Latest Obsession

Leave a Reply

