Run….Don’t Walk to Zabb Elee!!!!

zaabelee

Apparently my friend Nick and I didn’t sweat enough in our Soul Cycle class as we headed to Zabb Elee for lunch post-ride and encountered some seriously spicy meal sweats! This place has been touted as some of the best “authentic” Thai in the city and while I can’t vouch for it’s authenticity….I can say that my meal was really good and made me want to hightail it to Chiang Mai!

If you are averse to spice then Zabb Elee may not be the best place for you. We asked for all of our dishes to be on the mild side and yet we were in full meat sweat mode from the beginning of our meal to long after we left.

There are four large pages to this menu and it was a little overwhelming (thank god for the pictures to help steer us in our  choice). I didn’t know what to order and with Nick being just as in the dark as I was, we ordered whatever sounded good, not what was adventurous (saving that for another visit). Coming off of an intense Soul Cycle class we didn’t want anything too heavy and so went with pretty standard dishes.

I don’t eat nearly enough papaya as I want so we ordered the Som Tum Muazuar salad which was chock full of shrimp, bbq pork and crispy pork skin. Very refreshing and a great start to the meal. Oh and it was burn your mouth off spicy….it was a “starter” but it took us a while to eat and so was the last thing on our table! And for our shared entree, we went with a traditional dish: Larb. Comprised of ground meat and herbs and served with lettuce and pickled veggies…….it’s good on its own or when you roll up into lettuce wraps!

zaab1

*Som Tum Muazuar*

(Papaya, Shrimp, BBQ Pork, Noodle, Tomato, Long Beans, & Crispy Pork Skin)

zaab2

*Larb Moo*

(Ground Pork, Shallot, Fresh Mint, Scallion, Cilantro, Chili Powder & Lime Dressing*

My first visit to Zabb Elee was quite tame but I know I will be back soon. There are SO many dishes offered here! At lunch we were the only ones in the restaurant but I’ve walked by at night and it’s always packed. This place would be great to go with a group and order a variety of dishes for everyone to share, in fact I think I’ll have to propose this for my next girlfriend dinner! I went to the East Village location but they also have an outpost in Queens. Which reminds me…. I still need to get my butt to Flushing for an epic food tour!

Zabb Elee

75 2nd Avenue (between 4th and 5th Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under Run... Don't Walk

Leave a Reply

