Run…Don’t Walk to Wild!!!

555111_10151452883696723_2023583997_s

This past Sunday while everyone was sipping margaritas and dipping chips into guacamole for Cinco de Mayo I was eating gluten-free pizza at Wild in the West Village with my friend Jason. I wanted something simple and fresh as I had indulged a little bit over the weekend and Wild  hit the spot.

Previously Slice (a vegan pizza place), Wild has evolved into a restaurant that uses fresh, local, seasonal ingredients and clean toppings in their pizzas, salads and desserts. And everything is made gluten-free! Including the pizzas, which taste like a regular flatbread crust. They have stayed true to their former roots by using mostly vegan ingredients and giving diners the option of vegan cheese on their pizzas (no thank you, I like the real stuff) and the only meat options they offer are bacon and sweet capicola.

The scene is rustic, warm, cute and quite small (roughly 6 two top tables and 2 8 seat communal tables), but they’ve got outdoor seating and so when it’s a little warmer, I’ll be outside eating and people watching on Hudson.

from Wild's Facebook Page

from Wild’s Facebook Page

A note….if you are looking for a quick meal then Wild is not for you…. we ordered two pizzas and it took nearly 45 minutes to get our food in a restaurant half full but it was worth the wait. It had been a long weekend for my friend and I so we didn’t drink (they only have a beer and wine license) but I suggest ordering a glass of wine or one of their NY state beers while you wait.

The menu is small but creative with just eight salads to start, eight pizzas (personal or share size) and three desserts. We ordered two personal sized pizzas (the roasted vegetable and sweet capicola) and figured if we were still hungry we could always order more (we didn’t).

When our pizza finally came out they were a sight to behold….the seasonal vegetable pizza looked like a garden on a plate with asparagus, fennel, cauliflower, peppers, and mushrooms sprinkled over a thick homemade pesto and the sweet capicola was a cheesy dream slathered with thin slices of capicola and peppered with tiny cherry peppers.

The pizza is more of a flatbread than a pizza crust as its very crunchy and much thinner than your average pie. I felt less heavy after I finished eating it but definitely full and loved that it tasted so fresh and was devoid of extra salt (they let the ingredients really shine through). You know you are eating something bad when it’s pizza but at Wild that’s not the case. If this is healthy pizza then I’ll be here a lot…I just wish they delivered to me (I live on Hudson but south of Canal) but I am just shy of their delivery range. Guess I’ll just have to bike up there and back to get my Wild fix.

Wild

535 Hudson Street (between Charles and Perry Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under Run... Don't Walk

Leave a Reply

