My Latest Obsession: Melton Mowbray Pork Pies!!!!

I ate a lot during my little vacation to London and Barcelona over the past week…so much so that just a day shy of heading back to NYC, my body started to reject me and I encountered very bad stomach pains that took me out of commission for a few hours. But before it all went south (probably due to the richness of the food I was enjoying), I was able to fall in love with my latest obsession…..Melton Mowbray Pork Pies.

photo

Now you can’t get these in the states (at least not the “official” ones) but they must be known here so that someone can make them for the masses! I believe that pork pies could single-handedly cure a very late night drinking with just a few bites!

A pork pie is a traditional British meat pie and the best ones can be found from a particular region in the UK called Melton Mowbray. Normally eaten cold (trust me, it’s amazing cold), they are a tasty snack that consists of roughly chopped pork and pork jelly sealed in a hot water crust pastry. Now some people may shiver at the thought of cold meat but it’s basically a terrine stuffed into a delicious flakey and buttery savory pastry crust. I was a little skeptical to eat one just plain (doesn’t this need a mustard or savory chutney? I thought) but to my surprise it is simply perfect when eaten on its own.

photo

On my first night in London I caught sight of one at the local grocery store and became intrigued. While asking the counter lady what they were, many Britons jumped in to our conversation and told me I had to get a taste. Well, if everyone agrees that I should have one…I might as well. While walking back to my friend’s place I took one bite and wished I had bought a handful more (these were tiny little things- unlike the above I found at Harrods). I then couldn’t get them out of my mind and was determined to get my hands on another before I departed for Spain. Unfortunately I didn’t get another until a few days later when I was touring the city on my own and happened upon one of my favorite places in London…the super-expensive but absolutely amazing Harrods Food Hall.

It’s been a little over a week since I had my last bite and I am CRAVING one. Guess I’ll either have to head back to London soon or find a way to make them on my own although I reckon they won’t be the same!

3 Comments

Filed under My Latest Obsession

3 responses to “My Latest Obsession: Melton Mowbray Pork Pies!!!!

  1. PLEASE COME BACK WE MISS YOU xxxx PS Must contact MM pork pie PR people! They must be based in London.

  2. Devin

    Hi,

    Myers of Keswick – http://www.myersofkeswick.com/ – has them in nyc. So no need to run off to London.

    D

    • oh yes… i am very aware and will be heading there this week to check them out. but they make their own…what i love are the melton mowbray kind which they don’t have. 😉

Leave a Reply

