My Latest Obsession: Andre’s Cafe Strudel!

photo 1-1

My Hungarian friend Gabriella has been bugging me to check out Andre’s Cafe in Yorkville for authentic Hungarian eats but it wasn’t until last week that I walked through the doors and realized how I should listen to Gabriella more!

It’s teeny tiny of a place, that serves lunch, dinner and desserts of all kinds. But I was here for one thing and one thing only… strudels. Walking by its almost impossible not to want to look and drool over the pastries in the windowsill and stare at the giant poster that simply says….STRUDELICIOUS. They offer nearly a dozen sweet and six savory strudels served warm or at room temperature.

photo 2-1

*Spinach and Potato Strudel*

I ordered the spinach and potato strudel to go as I was running late to work. When I finally got the chance to sit down was able to see what I had just paid nearly $8.00 for. Before taking a bite, you’ve gotta take it all in….a heaping portion of cut strudel with spinach and potato narrowly flowing out. The light flaky pastry manages to somehow keep it all together but with each bite or cut of the knife, it starts to get a little messy….in a good way.

The savory strudel was so good that I fear for the time I try one of their sweet strudels. If it’s even half as good as the spinach and potato strudel… then I may find myself eating more than a few 😉

Andre’s Cafe

1631 2nd Avenue (between 84th and 85th Streets)

Leave a comment

Filed under My Latest Obsession

Leave a Reply

